Friday, 13 August 2010

Politics & Principles

Returning to this post and this one earlier today on the subject of Eurosceptic Conservative MPs, it is worthwhile bringing to reader's attention Appendix Two of Carswell and Hannan's work "The Plan", this appendix listing those supporters of Direct Democracy. One of the basic principles of Direct Democracy is the UK's withdrawal from the EU and substituting that membership with a 'trading agreement' similar to that enjoyed by Switzerland and Norway.

Amongst those signatories are:

Adam Alfriyie, Douglas Carswell, Stephen Crabb, Philip Dunne, Stephen Hammond, Nick Herbert, Adam Holloway, Stewart Jackson, Kwasi Kwarteng, Brooks Newmark, Jesse Norman, Priti Patel, Laura Sandys, Henry Smith and Theresa Villiers.

Now compare that list with those that voted to adopt the EU External Action Service (scroll down). Then compare the voting list with the list of founder members of an organisation entitled "Conservative Friends of Turkey", an organisation campaigning, amongst other things, for Turkey's membership of the EU.

Nothing like having a foot in both camps - something the leader of their party is also adept in! Or do they and their leader suffer from 'split personalities' - one of the symptoms of which is "Multiple mannerisms, attitudes and beliefs that are not similar to each other"


James Higham said...

Jesse Norman is an interesting signatory because he is soft on common purpose and therefore pro-EU.

Witterings From Witney said...

Surprising the names and how they voted that that list threw up - is it not?

I often think that MPs append their signatories on anything that they believe will gain them some positive publicity. The writings match their words - both being meaningless!